BA LLB admissions 2020-21: Top institutions offering 3-year, 5-year law degrees – Times of India

NEW DELHI: A degree in law is one of the most popular career choices in India since pre-Independence era. The students have a wide variety of options to choose their area of specialisation including – criminal law, civil law, corporate law, environmental law etc.

The students can choose to pursue either – 3-year BA LLB Programe or 5-year integrated LLB programme. Good communication skills and capacity to convince others are some of the key skills required to become a good legal professional.

The students who have cleared 10+2 exams and wish to study law can apply for various entrance examinations conducted by individual law colleges/institutes including – Common Law Admission Test (CLAT), LSAT India – Law School Admission Test, All India Law Entrance Test (AILET), MHT CET Law etc.

Here’s a list of top law colleges/schools/institutes/universities located across the country:



  • Faculty of Law, University of Delhi
  • National Law University, Delhi
  • Faculty of Law, Jamia Millia Islamia
  • University School of Law and Legal Studies, Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, Delhi

Uttar Pradesh

  • Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow
  • Faculty of Law, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  • Faculty of Law, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh
  • Amity Law School, Noida
  • School of Law, Bennett University, Greater Noida


  • Department of Law, Kashmir University, Srinagar
  • Department of Law, Jammu University, Jammu


  • National Law University, Jodhpur
  • Faculty of Law, Rajasthan University, Jaipur


  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab (Patiala)
  • Army Institute of Law, Mohali
  • University Institute of Legal Studies, Panjab University, Chandigarh



  • National Law School of India University, Bangalore
  • School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore

Andhra Pradesh & Telangana

  • NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad
  • University College of Law, Osmania University, Hyderabad


  • National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi
  • School of Legal Studies, Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi

Tamil Nadu

  • Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli
  • Tamil Nadu Dr Ambedkar Government Law University, Chennai
  • Government Law College, Madurai
  • Government Law College, Tiruchirappalli
  • Government Law College, Coimbatore


West Bengal & Assam

  • West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata
  • Department of Law, University of Calcutta, Kolkata
  • Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT Kharagpur, Kharagpur
  • National Law University and Judicial Academy, Guwahati


  • National Law University Odisha, Cuttack

Bihar & Jharkhand

  • Chanakya National Law University, Patna
  • Patna Law College
  • National University of Study and Research in Law, Ranchi



  • Government Law College, Mumbai
  • Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai
  • Department of Law, University of Mumbai
  • ILS Law College, Pune
  • Symbiosis Law College, Pune


  • Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar
  • Baroda School of Legal Studies, Faculty of Law, MS University of Baroda, Vadodara


  • VM Salgaocar Law College, Panaji (affiliated to Goa University)


Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh

  • National Law Institute University, Bhopal
  • Department of Legal Studies and Research, Barkatullah University, Bhopal
  • Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur

(Please note that this is an indicative list)

Source link


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button